Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 09-29-2005, 08:49 PM   #1
66WINN

Default Boating at Night

I would like to get some advice on what people think about boating on the lake at night. I am relatively new at it and have found my way by traveling from lighted bouy to bouy. I was feeling pretty comfortable then I read some news articles that gave me some second thoughts and left me with saftey concerns. What experiences or advice can you offer?
66WINN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 10:44 PM   #2
Rinkerfam

Boating at night can be one of the most enjoyable experiences on the lake. My advice to you would be to travel in areas you are comfortable in by day. If you have some idea of what is out there to begin with, it makes navigation that much easier. Be very aware of your surroundings (360 degrees all of the time). Be careful not to confuse lights from shore with navigation aids and other boats. Some people like to put red and green light on docks or homes which can be a distraction to say the least. Moonlit nights are best for visibility, but venturing out on a moonless night can also be very rewarding. The only negative experience I have had while boating at night was when a bat hit me square in the forehead while traveling at 25 mph (stay below the windshield if possible ). Be safe and enjoy.
Old 09-29-2005, 10:54 PM   #3
Bear Islander

My advise is don't go anywhere at night that you are not familiar with during the day.

And at night it's hard to judge distance, another boat or the shore my be closer than you think.

Try to use and develop your night vision instead of turning on a light all the time.
Bear Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 11:33 PM   #4
Mee-n-Mac

Lightbulb Prepare then enjoy