Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-20-2020, 12:02 PM   #1
Newcomers

Default Best way to sell a boat advice please?

Hi -
I am a year round resident in Alton. I have just hit 70 so I am thinking about selling my 19' Regal Bowrider with trailer. I bought it brand new in 2000 (yep!).
Over the years it has been seldom used. Have a records and info. It has a bimini top, new covers and a winter cover too. Woodgrain dashboard along with like new upholstery. The trailer comes with brakes and a spare tire.
It is in the water now at Robert's Cover Marina.

Wondering what advice you might have as to how is the best way to go about pricing it and selling it?

Thanks!
Paul
Newcomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 12:20 PM   #2
DesertDweller

Having done this a bunch of times, the easiest way to do it is to broker it through a marina. They deal with showing it, the paperwork, etc. Also, likely they will be able to get you a higher price. Obviously the down side is you have to pay a brokerage fee (which is somewhere in the 10 to 15 percent range depending on the price of the boat). Your other option is to run adds on Craigslist (free) or BoatTrader or equivalent(at a cost).

I just sold a boat through a marina and glad I did. He priced it a lot higher than I would have ever thought and sold it in less than a week. Yes, I had to pay his fee but I didn't deal with anything else.

If you sell it yourself, probably half the calls you will get are from either brokers/dealers offering to sell it for you or tire tickers who like to talk about boats. If you have the time to deal with that then consider that option.
DesertDweller is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DesertDweller For This Useful Post: