Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 10-31-2004, 11:45 PM   #1
Rinkerfam

Default Help maintaining bimini enclosure

I was wondering what works best to clean/maintain the clear plastic on a bimini enclosure. I want to keep the material supple as well as clean and free of scratches.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 11-01-2004, 08:09 AM   #2
DRH

Default Plastic Window Treatment

I don't remember where I originally learned about this treatment for clear plastic windows, but somewhere long ago I read that Pledge furniture polish (in the spray can) contains something that keeps the windows soft and clear. I've been using it for 10 years now to treat our plastic boat windows, and they've always stayed soft and crystal clear.
Old 11-01-2004, 08:31 AM   #3
Rattlesnake Gal

Thanked 1,349 Times in 475 Posts

We were told by a friend not to fold them and do not let the vinyl touch the vinyl. It can fuse together marring it. I picked up some inexpensive sheets at Wal-Mart to roll each one in.
Four Winns instructions were to use a spray bottle with water and a small drop of liquid soap. Then use a clean bucket of water and cloth to rinse, changing this water often.
Rattlesnake Gal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 09:21 PM   #4
Rinkerfam

Thank you DRH and RG. One question DRH.... have you been treating the same windows for ten years or have there been multiple boats over this time frame. If it has been the same vinyl all along, I'd say that's quite an endorsement for that treatment.
Thanks again.
RF
Old 11-01-2004, 09:46 PM   #5
DRH

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinkerfam
One question DRH.... have you been treating the same windows for ten years or have there been multiple boats over this time frame.
Rinkerfam,