Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 09-02-2004, 07:26 PM   #1
PoloGrnC4

Default Winni Newbee asking Newbee questions...

I'm planning on heading out to Alton bay (and maybe further..) to do a little fishing with a couple of friends and my son over the 10th, 11th, and 12th of September. I have a 17' Ski boat we're planning on taking. Frankly, I've heard some real horror stories about offshore powerboats, 40' Carvers, and such.

I'm a pretty careful guy, should I really be worrying so much? Is there a "quieter" spot (in Winnipesaukee) I should start out in? Does anyone have any recommendations for any nice motels/hotels with overnight docking?

I've been boating for 8 years now, but never in Winni.. Anybody have some newbee advice? Recommendations? Warnings?

Much appreciated!
PoloGrnC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 08:31 PM   #2
JG1222

Default Advice...

You've just opened yourself up to a barrage of "back and forth" bantering about how evil "offshore" boats are, and it's my guess that that will become the main focus of all the responses. Therefore, before all the foolishness starts, let me throw my two cents in to give my opinion on the subject you asked.

I'm an experienced boater on the lake for the past 15 years in a boat about your size (19') - and the "offshore" boats are not as big of a problem as you'd think by reading this forum. (According to some people on here, "offshore" owners run over little old ladys on purpose and eat little children) - However, it's just common sense to be aware of your surroundings - if you see a 38' cigarette boat bearing down on you - move.

Also, buy a Bizer chart when you get to the lake - it's hands-down the best of the charts for navigation.