Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Snowmobiling
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-01-2011, 10:17 PM   #1
BoulderBronco

Default Meredith to Burlington VT

I've mapped out the trails and it is possible. Anyone ever done anything like this? The question is, is it insane to try to go that far? Am I crazy for even thinking about it? I'm a veteran rider and can easily handle an all day trip. But not knowing much of anything about the trails I'm not sure what would be involved or even roughly how long it would take, 3hrs? 6hrs? More? Would most of the trails be groomed so I could maintain an average speed of say 35mph or are many of the trails going to be rough and unpredictable? What about refuling? I am thinking I would have to plan out the stops for fuel/food. Any thoughts on this or any other trail run of this distance would be much appreciated.
BoulderBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:44 AM   #2
secondcurve

I can't answer your questions about the condition of the trails between Meredith and Burlington Vermont but I can tell you the time to travel that distance will be a lot longer than 3-6 hours.
secondcurve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:29 AM   #3
magicrobotmonkey

A couple of weekends ago, we went from laconia, nh to epsom nh. Approximate travel time was 3 hours. That was all through towns with good clubs keeping the trails marked and groomed. Even so, things got a little sketchy in Chichester.

Remember that the maps have a hard time keeping up with trail changes. Even if you go town by town and get the club maps for each section, you are going to have a very hard time navigating.
magicrobotmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:41 PM   #4
BoulderBronco