Winnipesaukee Forum

Winnipesaukee Forum (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/index.php)
-   Winni Pets (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Betta fish (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15787)

Argie's Wife 05-19-2013 08:43 PM

Betta fish

I've been keeping betta fish for the past 6 years.

The first one I had, Bennie, lived for 4 years - he was great. I cleaned the bowl every two weeks, fed him regularly, and he just thrived. He was a beautiful betta and seemed to know when it was late at night, as I'd be working, all intense on something on the computer, when he'd dive into into rocks and scare the crapola outta me. Loved that little guy.

However, I've had three more fish since then, with a few months in between them, and they haven't made it much past 2 months when they've died.

Does anyone else keep betta? Any secrets or anything I should know about them? I've been reading and reading - and it seems that I'm doing the food, cleaning, water treatments, etc., properly - but it's breaking my heart to keep losing these fish. :(

winnipiseogee 05-20-2013 04:46 AM

I know its a long drive for you but there is an aquarium store in Plymouth across from the wal-mart on Tenney Mtn Hwy. They are awesome! I'm pretty sure they are actually one of the best if not the best for salt-water stuff in the state.

They are great with help and advice. They also take my daughter's goldfish as seriously as they take a 300 gallon saltwater set-up. If anyone can help you they can!

fatlazyless 05-20-2013 07:04 AM